The Member Roster in CPHS

We are delighted to invite you to a webinar to learn more about India’s largest regular household survey, the Consumer Pyramids Household Survey. Kaushik Krishnan, Chief Economist, and Mahesh Vyas, MD and CEO of CMIE will talk about the Member Roster in CPHS on Thursday, July 22 2021 at 8.30 PM IST (8.00 AM PT, 10.00 AM CT, 11.00 AM ET, 5.00 PM GMT).

Please sign up here.

About the event

Wave 22 of CPHS began on January 1, 2021 and concluded on April 30, 2021. The webinar will cover the following:

The CPHS member roster tracks information on individual members in the households that participate in the survey. This is the primary source of data that is used by researchers measuring all-cause mortality using CPHS. It is also the source of the rich data that we capture on migration.

The webinar is expected to last an hour. We will keep aside another 30 minutes to answer your questions. This will be an engaging and interactive session where we explain how CMIE fared while conducting Wave 22 and where you can ask us questions on the execution. Your questions are important for us to know both what excites and concerns you about the survey. Each round gets better with your feedback.

About CPHS

CPHS is India’s largest regular household survey and the world’s largest household panel survey. Through CPHS, we have collected data on over 232,000 households and 1.19 million individuals since 2014. The survey collects information on household demographics, individual identities, employment, health status, financial inclusion, individual and household incomes, consumption expenditures, ownership of assets and intentions to buy them, household amenities and consumer sentiments. Income and expenses data are a monthly time-series since January 2014.

Since the data was made available in late 2017, data from CPHS has been used by leading research institutions like the World Bank as well as in publications in leading academic journals such as the Quarterly Journal of Economics. As of today, over 30 papers have been written using CPHS.

Record-level data from all 22 Waves of CPHS are available through a subscription service. The 23rd Wave of the survey is in the field and will conclude on August 31, 2021. A subscription to CPHS gives access to all past data and all the additional data released during the period of subscription.

CPHS provides the most recent, most frequent and most comprehensive data on household wellbeing in the world. We look forward to telling you more about what makes it a great dataset for applied research.

Use of CMIE Product implies acceptance of the usage agreement & privacy policy   ♦   FAQs   ♦  Diagnosis